All Kinds of Fresh

Hyakumi, Niddrie

Hyakumi, Niddrie

I am fairly new to Japanese food but it has already become my favourite cuisine! I think I’m actually a little obsessed- I crave it constantly and have even started cooking it at home. I’ve fallen in love with the food and the culture and am hoping to visit Japan some time next year, *fingers crossed*.

What I love most about Japanese food is how delicate it is, how each element of a Japanese dish is so carefully prepared and presented and how only the freshest ingredients are used. It’s also very healthy for you which is always a bonus!

Sashimi platter, $30

Sashimi platter, $30

There is a real appreciation for food in Japanese culture. Food is not supposed to be over-indulged in, rather you eat until you are 80% full. It is also eaten slowly so that every mouthful can be savoured.

Hyakumi is a fantastic example of this style of eating. Their sashimi is amongst the freshest I have had in Melbourne and has been of the highest quality every time I have visited.

Sushi boat, $60

Sushi boat, $60

It was actually only late last year that I plucked out the courage to try sashimi. Before this I would NEVER eat anything raw or even slightly undercooked- the thought of it just disgusted me! I have no idea what it was but I just randomly decided to give it ago one night for dinner.

I have never looked back since!

Green tea

Green tea

Must try dishes:

- Sushi Boat, perfect for two people and definitely the best boat I have had!
– Sashimi combo

Tips & Tricks:

  • I always order my sashimi as soon as I sit down as it does take a long time for it to come out. Don’t be deterred though, it only shows how fresh and how carefully prepared your food is!
  • There are a few carparks at the back of Hyakumi as Keilor Rd itself is very busy so leave yourself plenty of time to find one!
  • If you order a pot of tea, the waitstaff will continually top you up free of charge

Ambience: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Service: 4/5
Value for Money: 4/5

Hyakumi
330 Keilor Rd, Niddrie
Ph: (03) 9972 1482
View the menu

Opening Hours

Monday – Friday: 5:30pm to 10:30pm

Hyakumi on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “All Kinds of Fresh

Leave a Reply

