Coocoo for Cacao

Valentin Heart, Bastien & Cacao chocolates

Valentin Heart, Bastien & Cacao chocolates

So right now, I’m Coocoo for Cacao Fine Chocolates & Patisserie.

I only discovered Cacao a few months ago when I was wandering through the newly renovated section at Highpoint. The first thing that caught my eye was the array of beautifully decorated little chocolates in the display- just so picturesque!

I remember thinking I must come back to sample a few but for whatever reason it slipped my mind. So when I spotted a Cacao stand at Taste of Melbourne I made sure I didn’t go home empty handed!

Close up of Bastien detail

Close up of Bastien detail

The artwork on the chocolates is just so intricate and carefully detailed. You can tell a lot of work has gone into perfecting the presentation.

They say we eat with our eyes and boy were mine salivating at the sight of these! They were delicious- firm on the outside but as I took a bite all sorts of yummy goodness oozed into my mouth.

But it’s not the chocolates that were the star of the Cacao Taste show for me.

It was their Macarons.

Violet & Cassis Light cream of Violet with refreshing blackcurrant ganache

Violet & Cassis, New York Cheesecake, Raspberry & Dark Chocolate 

Okay, so I’ve had my fair share of macarons and I’m just going to put it out there- Cacao’s are possibly the best ones I have had to date.

I can’t exactly recall every single macaron I’ve sampled but all I know is I took one bite of these amazing sandwich cookies and nearly melted into the couch.

Cacao's Raspberry Macaron

Cacao’s Raspberry Macaron

The outside is perfectly crisp and the filling is delicate and smooth. They weren’t chewy like others I’ve had and the flavours were perfectly balanced and not ‘sickly’ sweet which was good.

New York Cheesecake is a must have as is the Raspberry and the Dark Chocolate, but I also noticed on their website that they have some other fun flavours like Jam & Cream and Strawberries & Cream yummmmmmm!

Violet & Cassis Macaron

Violet & Cassis Macaron

Can’t wait to try them all.

Texture- 4.5/5
Filling- 5/5
Flavour- 4.5/5
Presentation- 4/5

Cacao Fine Chocolate & Patisserie
Highpoint Shopping Centre
Kiosk 2708, 200 Rosamond Road Maribyrnong
Phone: 03 9317 3325

Opening Hours

Monday – Wednesday: 9am – 5:30pm
Thursday – Friday: 9am – 9pm
Saturday: 9am – 5pm
Sunday: 10am – 5pm

For various locations visit www.cacao.com.au 

Leave a Reply

