Opa!

20140208_151124

$$ | CBD | Greek | Mediterranean | Gluten-free friendly | Outdoor dining

The annual Antipodes festival was held in Lonsdale St this weekend and despite the extreme Melbourne heat, thousands flocked to the renown Greek quarters to sing, dance and of course EAT.

This was my first time at this festival so I was super excited to dig into some of Greece’s finest foods and to of course dance the Zorba!

20140208_153028

Wanting to sit outdoors and enjoy some Greek feasting amongst the live music and entertainment, my friends and I decided to have dinner at Stalactites Greek Restaurant. 

20140208_153519

Now when it comes to Greek dining, there are just four things that we consider essential to the perfect Greek feast- saganaki, meat off the spit, tzatziki & pita and some wine. These things combined are just heaven in our opinion.

So that’s exactly what we ordered. Plus some Dolmades for some extra delight!

Saganaki, $12

Saganaki, $12

I have never had a bad saganaki and this was no exception. It is grilled cheese after all, how can you go wrong?! It wasn’t as good as Hellenic Republic’s version but it was still pretty darn tasty.

Mixed giro platter (large), $29

Mixed giro platter (large), $29

The chicken and lamb off the spit were both tender and flavoursome. There’s just something about the way the Greeks do their spit, it’s a party in your mouth!

Pita bread, $1.7 ea

Pita bread, $1.7 /pce

I LOVED the pita bread, it was so light and fresh I could have happily eaten it on it’s own but of course nothing beats layering it with loads of tzatziki and spit.

Tzatziki, four serves $9

Tzatziki, four serves $9

Speaking of the tzatziki it was also delicious- well balanced, not too heavy on the dill or garlic.

I’m so annoyed at myself because the stand out dish for me was the dolmadakia and I carelessly forgot to take a close-up photo of it! All I can say is I never was a big fan of them as I found the grape leaves to be a bit bitter for my liking, however having them at Stalactites has changed my mind. Really yummy. In fact, everything was!

Opa!

Greek Frappe, $6

Greek Frappe

Streetfood: Some frappe to cool down from the heat.

20140208_184337

Streetfood: Greek donuts, loukoumades

Ambience: 4/5 (outdoor)
Food: 4/5
Service: 3.5/5
Value for Money: 3.5/5

Stalactites Greek Restaurant
177-183 Lonsdale St, CBD
Ph: (03) 9663 3316

View Menu

Opening Hours
24 hours, 7 days a week

Stalactites Greek Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

