Dumplings and Less

Dumplings And More, Footscray

Dumplings And More, Footscray

$ | Footscray | Chinese | Yum-Cha | Take-Away

The girls and I were desperately craving pan-fried dumplings one night but didn’t want to travel far so we settled for Dumplings And More in Footscray for a quick retreat.

Being first timers to this old eatery in Hopkins St, we nearly walked out before stepping foot in the door because of the state of the restaurant- dirty dishes on almost every unoccupied table and rubbish on the floor despite being quiet!  But our stomachs stood their ground and we prevailed purely out of hunger. I forgot to take a picture of the mess- that’s how much I needed food in my belly!

Pan Fried Pork Dumplings,

Pan Fried Pork Dumplings,

I’m glad we gave Dumplings And More a chance (most wouldn’t have) however,  because the pan-fried dumplings were actually very tasty and definitely satisfied our craving. They didn’t taste like your traditional pork dumplings- there was more of a ‘chivey’ flavour than pork, but at $9.00 for 15pces we certainly weren’t going to complain!

Spring Onion Pancake, $2.5

Spring Onion Pancake, $2.5

My friend Roz had never tried spring onion pancakes before so we ordered a batch to share. It was slightly overcooked for my liking but not for Roz who absolutely loved them and has been hooked ever since. Again, who’s to complain at $2.5 a plate?!

I’m undecided as to whether I’d visit again, I think the poor cleanliness (disgraceful actually) of the restaurant is enough to put me off a future visit, but maybe- just maybe– I would come back if I was ever in such a desperate state again…

Ambience: 0/5
Food: 3.5/5
Service: 1/5
Value for Money: 5/5

Dumplings And More
96 Hopkins St, Footscray
Ph: (03) 9689 2165
View the menu

Opening Hours

Monday – Sunday: 11:30am to 10pm

Dumplings and More on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

