An Unlikely Delight

20140405_105459$ | Footscray | Coffee | Brunch | High tea | Outdoor seating

Reading Room Cafe is one of my favourite places for brunch in the West. It’s in an unlikely spot- hidden away in Building P of Victoria University but that’s what I love most about it! It’s almost like a hideaway, somewhere where you can take a book and escape the rush of popular weekend brunch spots like Yarraville and Seddon.

Latte, $3.6

Latte, $3.6

It’s also a great spot for catching up with friends, especially when you just feel like having a bum day and wearing a hoody and leggings.

Reading Room uses Sensory Lab and Code Black beans for their coffee, not my favourite blends but still pleasant enough for my morning wake up!

Fritters Lane, $17.5

Fritters Lane, $17.5

The first time I visited Reading Room I was surprised at the presentation and flavours of the dishes. From my own uni experiences with on-campus cafes I definitely didn’t expect the high quality of the food served here, everything is delicious!

The Fritters Lane especially is one of my favourite brunch dishes- the corn patties are crisp on the outside and soft on the inside and marry perfectly with the yolk from the poached eggs and the salsa and guacamole- just yummy.

Simple Salmon, $17.5

Simple Salmon, $17.5

Simple Salmon is my partner’s favourite dish at Reading Room- smoked salmon croquettes, smashed avocado and herbs, poached egg, dill sour cream and hollandaise. I always make sure I have a bite! It’s full of flavour and again goes really well with all of it’s accompaniments.

You really can’t go wrong here, whether dining solo or with friends it’s a great spot for chilling out on a Sunday morning over delicious food. I sure wish I had a cafe like this when I was at Uni!

They also do high tea! #winning

Must Try:

– Fritters Lane
– Simple Salmon

Tips & Tricks:

  • Parking around the uni is limited, best to visit on the weekends to avoid restrictions
  • Head to Gate 2 towards Building P which is on your left towards the end as you walk into the uni

Reading Room Cafe
Building P, Victoria University/88 Ballarat Rd, Footscray 
Ph: (03) 9919 4091
View the menu

Ambience: 5/5
Food: 4.5/5
Service: 3/5, a little slow
Value for Money: 4/5

Opening Hours

Monday – Friday: 7:30am – 5pm
Saturday – Sunday: 7:30am – 3:30pm

Reading Room Cafe on Urbanspoon
 

Leave a Reply

