Yim Yam Yum

 

20140712_180900$$ | Yarraville | Thai | Vegan friendly | Delivery | BYOB

I’m a little biased when it comes to Thai as I am a Caroline Thai devotee and have yet to come across a better Thai restaurant in the West, or in fact anywhere! BUT Yim Yam isn’t a bad substitute.

Toasted Rice & Coconut Salad, $13.5

Toasted Rice & Coconut Salad, $13.5

The toasted rice & coconut salad is my favourite dish here and one which Yim Yam proudly class as ‘Matt Preston’s Favourite’ menu item. I’d be bragging too as it’s definitely a winner- crispy toasted rice mixed with beautiful Thai flavours and coconut. It’s delicious.

Mixed Vegetables with Satay

Mixed Vegetables with Satay

The mixed vegetables with satay was pleasant but nothing to write home about. The veggies had a good crunch which I enjoyed and the satay is the perfect balance of sweetness and saltiness.

 Hokkien Noodles with Chicken & Vegetables


Hokkien Noodles with Chicken & Vegetables

I obviously missed the chilli rating on the Hokkien noodles as they were very spicy which I felt overtook the sweetness of the dish. Probably my least favourite dish of the night.

The service was frantic- the staff struggle to keep up with orders and walk-ins. When I asked for the bill I was told that it would be a five minute wait unless I went up to the counter (only after I mentioned I had a movie to catch).

If you’re after a more relaxed atmosphere I would recommend dining at their Moonee Ponds restaurant.

Must Try:

– Toasted Rice & Coconut Salad

Tips & Tricks:

  • Make sure you book, this place gets super busy
  • Don’t expect great customer service as the staff are always so flustered trying to keep up with orders and walk-ins
  • The menu is really lengthy and takes ages to get through, I’d recommend having a quick look at it online beforehand

Yim Yam Thai Laos
40 Ballarat St, Yarraville
Ph: (03) 9687 8585
View  Menu

Yim Yam Thai Laos on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

